Kahlil Gibran, on children

Cover of "The Prophet"

Cover of The Prophet

When my children were born I truly believed I had found my purpose for living.  I knew that without hesitation I would give my life to keep them safe.  My children have always taught me and given me more than I could ever have given to them. Yyet I was caught in the illusion that I was to give to them any wisdom I might have gained from experiences and somehow they would learn from my words and not have to go down those painful roads.  I was wrong.  We all learn from our experiences and I believe today that the most important thing, the only thing, I can give to my children is a safe place to come when life challenges them.  Took me a very long time to believe and trust this to be true although I have always loved how Kahlil Gibran beautifully and simply said it all in his book ‘The Prophet”.  When asked to speak of children, he said;

Your children are not your children.  They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.  They come through you but not from you.  And though they are with you they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts, for they have their own thoughts.  You may house their bodies but not their souls, for their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.  You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.  For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday. 

You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.  The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite, and He bends you with His might that His arrows may go swift and far.  Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;  For even as He loves the arrow that flies, so He loves also the bow that is stable.

Thank You Kahlil Gibran for making it so simply clear.

God grant me the strength to be still and stable.

About nsg2

I began writing a blog to help me keep my sanity when I lost my job. I write today out of gratitude to those who read, comment and keep me thinking and growing. Thank you I know we are all connected and it is through that connection that we find each other! Namaste, Nancy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kahlil Gibran, on children

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran | The Invisible Mentor

  2. Pingback: My Ultimate Gratitude List: C {Children:Patty} part 1 « lifebydmagdalene

  3. I’ve read Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet when I was still in high school. At this point in my life, this book had really evolved as it followed my growth from a young girl to where I am now: a mom with two teenage daughters.

    Like you, the simpleness of Kahlil Gibran’s words made the impact more purposeful and made me realize that it doesn’t take fancy words to make the truth known.

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful blog!
    :o)

  4. Pingback: Children by Kahlil Gibran « blessedlywoman

  5. Pingback: Expressions of Love « catseyesk

  6. Pingback: They Are Only Ours to Borrow | latetothetabledotcom

  7. Pingback: Reflections: Speak To Us Of Children… | Mirth and Motivation

  8. Pingback: Hate « Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides

Leave a Reply

